Making Inlay Banding

The idea is that working on something proportionally smaller to fit my limited shop time means I get it done sooner. Not the case here, but the fact that half of the process is ‘glue it and wait’ is helpful I guess. I made inlay for some small holidays gifts I’m making. It’s 1/8″ thick and about 1/2″ wide, large for inlay standards. It’s spanish cedar and poplar from my favorite local dumpster.  Nothing says happy holidays like some one else’s trash!

I was happy enough with the end product, although I need to refine the cuts I’m making on the bandsaw. I rushed a few steps and the width of some of the end grain pieces vary too much.  The only band saw blade I had was the 1/2″ blade I used to resawing cedar and oak a while back – it’s now fairly dull from that.  A smaller blade with a different tooth setting will help. As will a taller feather board for the resawing of the thin strips.  Uhh.. and the sun was in my eyes..  and I’m sleep deprived.. enough excuses.  I think I can get more accurate and thinner strips.   These are about 1/8″, but  getting to 1/16″ would be ideal.

I also discovered the handle of my belt sander rotates up and fits in my vice nicely.

If you have no idea what I’m talking about with inlay banding, here’s an example of banding some one else used in a project. They range in width, but this is on the thinner side, and store bought. Generally $10-$30 for two 36″ pieces.

Leave a Reply

