Reading…

This weekend Amber commented on how it’s pretty funny that I can just sit and read a book on furniture.  I’ve typically always liked reading non-fiction, maybe more so than fiction… I don’t know.  If so, it might have something to do with me reading enough fiction getting my BA in English.  But I think the real reason is that I like doing things more than I like reading about things.  During those odd lunch breaks or time before sleep or mornings just waking up – I can’t be doing much.  At least nothing with regard to much active or creative activity ie woodworking, music, photography, bicycles…

Since I have to eat breakfast, lunch, and wind down before I go to sleep,  I usually try to read about things that make my active time better served. (Or I write on here during my lunch break, you’re welcome.)

Anyway, here’s how I spent some recent breakfast, lunch, and pre-dreams time.

The Fine Art of Cabinetmaking. I’m actually not done with this, but so far it’s great.  Of course, in a way, I hope I’m never done with it.  I hope it’s something I refer back too when I’m making a wooden convex hand plane for a coopered door.  Maybe now I’m just turning non-fiction into fiction. We’ll see.   The book has much more writing that pictures – almost a blend of theory and practicality.  Very nice.  It makes thinking about a single board of wood seem very important. I guess it is.  It’s written by a man who preferred to word ‘composing’ over designing when it came to projects.  That should clarify whether you’d ever want to read it or not.

As an aside – a very lengthy transcription of an interview with Krenov is here.  And a ten minute long Youtube video about his life and work is here.

The Antique Hunters Guide to American Furniture. I didn’t read this one so much as peruse (speaking of college…) – and I’m continuing to do so.  It’s been helpful to get a handle of the different types and styles of furniture.  As well as the basic time period they were introduced etc.

Which made it sort of funny when I ran across this post from Chris Schwarz about simplifying furniture into 4 basic types.  In terms of ornamentation and construction quality.

One Comment on “Reading…”

  1. […] long and 6″ wide, but I’m still pretty excited about it since I was just reading the Krenov book and he’s constantly referring to pear wood as his favorite to work […]


Leave a Reply

